

CATHOLIC EDUCATIONAL SOCIETY OF UDUPI DIOCESE (CESU), UDUPI.

With the establishment of the Diocese of Udupi on 15th October 2012, a need was felt to bring all the educational institutions included within the jurisdiction of the new diocese hitherto had been under the administrative control of the Catholic Board of Education (CBE) Mangalore, to be brought under the control of the new diocese. In order to administer the educational institutions, the Catholic Educational Society of Udupi Diocese was formed by 2014 and was registered on 26th March 2014 under the Karnataka Societies' Registration Act, 1960 (Karnataka Act 17 of 1960). Registered Number is *UDP-S217-2013-14*.

Organization of Catholic Educational Society of Udupi Diocese (CESU), Udupi:



The Governing Board of the Catholic Educational Society of Udupi Diocese (CESU), Udupi comprised of the Bishop of Udupi Diocese as the President, the Vicar General as Vice President, presently V. Rev. Fr Vincent Robert Crasta as Secretary/Treasurer appointed by the President, 6 members elected from Annual general body of CESU and

5 members are nominated by the bishop in consultation with the secretary. The term of governing board members is 3 years.

As per Rule Numbers IV and V, the General Body constituted comprising three categories of members - Ex-officio, nominated from among the public and representatives of the Catholic teaching fraternity. The Ex-officio members were: the Bishop, Vicar General, Secretary and Joint Secretaries educational institutions under the management of CESU. Others are nominated by the President.

The CESU had the service of excellent Secretaries staring with Fr Clement Mascarenhas (2014-2015), Fr Lawrence D'Souza (2015-2019) and presently V. Rev. Fr Vincent Robert Crasta (2019--) efficiently discharging his duties as secretary.

Taking over of Educational Institutions from CBE to CESU:

03 February 2023, Friday, marked a record in the history of the Diocese of Udupi. In a meaningful ceremony held at Anugraha Pastoral Center, Kakkunje, Santhekatte, Udupi the work of changing the management of educational institutions was successfully completed on this day.

A meaningful 'Handing over Ceremony' was organized after the prolonged and laborious process of taking over the educational institutions from the management of Catholic Board of Education [CBE], Mangalore to Catholic Educational Society of Udupi Diocese [CESU], Udupi. Most Rev. Dr Gerald Isaac Lobo, the President of Catholic Educational Society of Udupi Diocese and the Bishop of Udupi Diocese and Most Rev. Dr. Peter Paul Saldanha, the president of Catholic Board of Education, Mangalore and the Bishop of Mangalore Diocese exchanged symbolically the files of educational institutions. To express the happy moment, both the Presidents exchanged flower bouquets and rejoiced over the successful completion of the work.

Educational Institutions under the Management of CATHOLIC EDUCATIONAL SOCIETY OF UDUPI DIOCESE (CESU), Udupi.

I. Under Graduate Colleges (Degree Colleges)			
1.	St Mary's College (Aided)	Shirva	
2.	Milagres College (Aided)	Kallianpura	
II. Pre-University Colleges			
3.	Milagres PU College (Aided)	Kallianpura	
4.	St Lawrence PU College	Moodubelle	
5.	St Mary's PU College (Aided)	Shirva	
6.	St Mary's Composite PU College	Kundapura	
7.	St John's Composite PU College	Shankarapura	
III. Industrial Training Institute			
8.	St Mary's I.T.I (Aided)	Chitpady	
IV. Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) Schools			
9.	Christ School	Manipal	
10.	St Mary's English Medium School (Upgraded till 12th Class)	Kannarpady	

11.	Don Bosco English Medium School (Upgraded till 12 th Class)	Shirva	
V. Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) School			
12.	Lourdes English Medium School	Kanajar	
13.	St. Philip Neri Central School	Basrur	
VI. State Board English Medium Primary Schools			
14.	Milagres English Medium School	Kallianpura	
15.	Nirmala English Medium School	Brahmavara	
16.	Mount Rosary English Medium School	Santhekatte,	
17.	St Antony English Medium School	Sastan	
18.	St John's Academy School	Shankarapura	
19.	St Francis English Medium School	Mudarangadi	
20.	St Francis Xavier English Medium School	Udyavara	
21.	St Lawrence English Medium School	Moodubelle	
22.	Church English Medium School	Ajekar	
23.	St Maria Goretti English Medium School	Hirgana	
24.	St Joseph English Medium School	Belman	
25.	Holy Rosary English Medium School	Kundapura	

Secretary Date:25-10-2023

V. Rev. Fr Vinent Robert Crasta





Place: Udupi















